• News
    Al Arabiya English

    Iranian girl, 13, beheaded by father in reported honor killing

    A 13-year-old Iranian girl was beheaded in her sleep by her father on Thursday in a so-called “honor killing,” local media reported. Last Update: 16:46 KSA 19:46 - GMT 16:46

  • News
    Al Jazeera

    Spain urges foreign holidaymakers to return in July

    Spain has urged foreign holidaymakers to return in July as one of Europe's strictest lockdowns eased, though tourism businesses were sceptical about salvaging the summer season. The world's second-most visited nation closed its doors and beaches in March to handle the COVID-19 pandemic, later imposing a two-week quarantine on overseas visitors. But that requirement will be lifted from July 1, a government statement said on Monday.

  • Politics
    Al Arabiya English

    Swarms of locusts seen in Dubai, municipality says: Situation under control

    Swarms of locusts appeared in Dubai on Sunday, with many people sharing pictures and videos on social media. The emirate's municipality said that situation was under control. Last Update: 20:59 KSA 23:59 - GMT 20:59

  • News
    Al Arabiya English

    Coronavirus: Second case of mink-to-human transmission found in the Netherlands

    The Dutch agriculture ministry on Monday said it had found what it believes to be a second case of a human becoming infected with the new coronavirus after coming in contact with a mink that had the virus. In a letter to parliament, minister Carola Schouten repeated that the country’s National Institute for Health believes the risk of animal-to-human transmission of the virus outside the farms on which they are kept is “negligible.

  • Health
    Al Arabiya English

    French doctor Didier Raoult defiant on hydroxychloroquine despite study

    Last Update: 17:52 KSA 20:52 - GMT 17:52

  • Business
    Al Arabiya English

    Dubai to reopen gyms, cinemas, resume economic activities starting May 27

    Dubai will allow gyms, cinemas and other businesses to reopen starting on Wednesday May 27, according to a statement issued by Dubai Media Office on Monday. Last Update: 17:18 KSA 20:18 - GMT 17:18

  • News
    Kuwait Times

    Saudi Arabia to end curfew on June 21, except in Makkah

    Dubai to allow free movement, business activity CAIRO: Saudi Arabia will begin easing restrictions on movement and travel this week, more than two months after stringent measures were introduced to help curb the spread of the novel coronavirus. Restrictions will be lifted in three phases, culminating in the curfew completely ending – with the exception of the holy city of Makkah – from June 21, the state news agency reported in a statement early yesterday.